Previous scholars (Eng)

Scholarship/-s are offered to female undergraduate and graduate students or doctoral candidates who want to pursue studies, work/study, or research in Sweden for at least one semester or full academic year. In special circumstances, applicants who are planning studies or projects during the summer are also considered.

Students/candidates must be from a New England college/university.

2022/2023 Candidates



Earlier SWEA Boston scholarship recipients

Year Name University in USA Field of studies in Sweden
1988 Vicky Leung Harvard University Swedish Language Studies at Uppsala Univ.
1989 Sarah Patrick Northeastern Univ Biomedical Engineering Work/study at Sahlgrenska
1990 Laura Nelson Harvard University Government Policy
1991 Meg Sibley Smith College Music studies
1992 Beth Stevens Northeastern Univ Medical work/study at Sahlgrenska
1993 Allen LeVines Berklee College,Music Music in Dalarna
1994 Hayley Goodson Brown University Swedish Program at Stockholm University
1995 Maria Ivanova Mt. Holyoke College Environmental Studies at Umeå University
1996 Isabel Gill Harvard University Swedish Literature
1997 Jessica Meir Brown University Swedish Program at Stockholm University
1998 Miwa Kozuki Mt. Holyoke College Ethnic Studies/Immigration
1999 Lisa Gambone Brown University Swedish Program
2000 Elizabeth Chiappa Harvard University Swedish Culture and Society
2000 Anna Testa Smith College Sociology
2001 Kate Gubata Brown University Swedish Program
2002 Katie Heikkinen Harvard University Public Health Policy
2003 Lilly Husbands Brown University Women’s Studies and Film
2003 Elizabeth Peterson Brown University International Studies
2004 Marienne Murch Harvard University Swedish Program
2005 Angela Sherwin Brown University Swedish Program
2006 Caitlin Flanagan Brown University Nursing
2007 Michelle Prairie Univ. of Connecticut Poli Sci & Economics
2007 Christa Bosch Raoul Wallenberg Inst Human Rights Law
2008 Anna Maria Martignetti Lunds Universitet Int’l Human Rights Law
2009 Amy Hernandez Colby College Swedish Program
2010 Sarah Garlington Boston University Doctoral Program in Social Politics
2010 Hanna Freedman Tufts University Swedish Program
2010 Ellen Wright U. Mass. in Amherst International Summer Program
2011 Sabrina Harris Boston University Master’s Comparative Education
2011 Ruairi Dewey-Smith Brandeis University Swedish Program
2012 Lydia Levens Eric Sahlström Institute Studying the nyckelharpa
2012 Gretchen Gerlach Brown University Swedish Program
2012 Anneliese Lilienthal Karolinska Institute Master Program in Global Health
2013 Emma Chow Bowdoin College Swedish Program
2013 Anna Reed Brown University Swedish Program
2013 Hilary Pech UMASS Amherst Uppsala Universitet
2014 Sydney Smoot Northeastern University Swedish Program
2014 Naomi Mastico UMASS Amherst Uppsala Universitet
2015 Emma Gronbeck UMASS Amherst Uppsala Universitet
2015 Lainie Rowland Brown University Swedish Program
2015 Emy Takinami University of Vermont Swedish Program
2016 Mikaela Karlsson Brown University Uppsala Universitet
2016 Kaitlin Hollinger U Mass Amherst Uppsala Universitet
2016 Anna-Linnea Towle University of Vermont Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan
2016 Maria Hanson Williams College Swedish Program
2017 Daven McQueen Brown University Handelshögskolan i Stockholm
2017 Marina Stam Bowdoin College Handelshögskolan i Stockholm
2017 Sarah Wiggins Tufts University Handelshögskolan i Stockholm
2017 Colette Heefner Suffolk University Lund University
2017 Elizabeth Doe Stone University of Virginia Anders Zorn/John Sargent Singer dialogue
2018 Tara Strelevitz Colby College Danish Institute for Study Abroad
2018 Tyrah Green Brown University Handelshögskolan i Stockholm
2018 Sasa Jovanovic Bowdoin College Handelshögskolan i Stockholm
2019 Ileeana Johnson Northeastern University Universal Music Group
2020 No Scholarship awarded during 2020 due to the pandemic ————————-
2021 Natalie Rodman Mount Holyoke College Handelshögskolan i Stockholm
2021 Molly Dorion Middlebury College Swedish DIS i Stockholm
2021 Alice Pehrson Northeastern U. Lund University
2021 Olivia Houck MIT Research work in Stockholm on Public Transportation